Moretele Council

The current Council which was established after the local government elections of 2011 is constituted by 55 councillors affiliated to the following political organisations.


Mayor : Honourable Mayor Cllr JONAS SELLO LEHARE.

Speaker: Cllr L J MAGONGWA

The speaker acts as the Chairperson of the Council, he is elected by the Council.

The Speaker presides over Council meetings, ensuring that meetings are held regularly and is responsible for maintaining order during council meetings. Ensuring that rules and regulations of the meeting are adhered.

Chief Whip: Cllr K L MOTSEPE

The Chief Whip is responsible for building and maintaining relationships between all the parties in Council. It is also the role of the Chief Whip to make sure that portfolio committees run smoothly, and that councillors are allocated to particular committees. Is also responsible for deciding, in consultation with the Speaker, how debates, questions and motions, will take place.


Left to right: J.Kau, M. Maluleka, M. Monaheng, M. Rambawa, N. Kgoele, N. Manamela

Left to right: J. Golele, H. Matheba, G. Mboweni, B. Mangena, D. Seemela, G. Makhathulela

Left to right: K. Moseki, K. Mleta, J. Molefe, J. Makwela, J. Makhubela, J. Magongwa

Left to right: M.Madise, M. Lehele, M. Bhiya, L. Sekhaolela, L. Maimane, L. Letebele

Left to right: W. Baloyi, S. Mabatle, RD. Mabasa, P. Makhudu, P. Moloisane

Municipal Development Priorities

Water and sanitation

Roads and Storm water



Community Services

Local economic Development

Institutional Development

Financial Management